Frugal Cleaning Solutions

This may be a little late for ‘Spring’ Cleaning, seeing as summer is almost here, but with this gorgeous weather, it just makes me want to deep clean everything!

So I thought I’d share some of my eco-friendly and very frugal cleaning solutions!

All Purpose Cleaner:

– Dr. Bronner’s Liquid Castile Soap (I like lavender) http://www.drbronner.com/DBMS/LS.htm  just pour 2Tbsp of the soap into a spray bottle, and fill with warm water. Shake and use! I use this on EVERYthing!

Messy cook?

Spray some Homemade All Purpose Cleaner on the spot, and depending on how nasty your spill is, either wipe right away or leave it on for a few minutes while you tidy the rest of the kitchen. Seriously, you don’t need all those fancy ‘scrubber’ cleaners. This stuff gets even dried pasta sauce off the stove. And if you DO need scrubbing power, sprinkle some baking soda on the spot too.

TA DA! Clean and sparkly.

Glass Cleaner:

This one I struggled with. Windex? Yuck. I hate the smell and it gets pricey, and who wants the kids to get into that stuff? Everyone says to use a vinegar spray, but I found just vinegar and water left streaks. Well, search no more, because I found the perfect recipe!

  • 1/4cup white vinegar
  • 1Tbsp corn starch
  • water.

Mix the vinegar and corn starch into a spray bottle and then fill with warm water. Shake, use. This will look like its going to be streaky, but I promise, when it dries, it dries streak free.

Diaper Wipe Solution:

After going through an entire pack of wipes in the hospital when my son was born, I realised that wipes will not only be expensive, but wasteful. So I tried this recipe I found in Amanda Blake Soule’s book (Don’t know Soule Mama? I LOVE her blog- check it out www.soulemama.com ) Her books are great, and this one I found in The Handmade Home.

  • 1Tbsp Dr. Bronner’s Liquid Baby Castile Soap
  • 1Tbsp Almond Oil (I use Olive oil)
  • 1 Drop Tea Tree Oil
  • 1 Drop Lavender Oil
  • Approx 3/4Cup warm water.

I mix these up in an old honey jar (holds about a cup of liquid) I make sure the lid is on tight and just give it a quick shake before I use it. I dip a baby wash cloth in and squeeze out any excess liquid. I have’t had to re-buy any of these ingredients yet and my son is 17 months old! Talk about frugal!

As far as dishes, we don’t have a dishwasher, so we go through a LOT of dish soap. Lately, I’ve been trying to squeeze a bit of soap into a bowl of water and dip my clean scrub brush into that, rather than squeeze a ton of soap on the brush, only to have to reload after a couple of dishes. I find it does the job wonderfully and saves on soap. I also try to buy soap whenever it’s on sale.

Another cheapie trick, for tough jobs, is Baking Soda. I’ve recently switched from coffee to tea, and I found my mugs are harder to get clean.

4 thoughts on “Frugal Cleaning Solutions

    • Thanks, Tara!
      You’re right! I became extremely sensitive to cleaning chemicals when I became pregnant with my son. Even after, I find certain chemicals that I used to use and like (like swiffer wet cloths) give me headaches. So I’m searching for an alternative for those!

Leave a Reply

