T-Shirt Upcycle Tutorial

A few years back (2005, I suppose) a friend gave me this t-shirt after working on the stage crew for a Gwen Stefani concert.

He knew I was (and still am) a huge fan, so it was a really sweet gift. The only thing is, the shirt was HUUGE! So I wore it as a pj shirt for a long time.
BUT, I recently came across this easy tutorial on Pinterest, showing how to turn an old, big t-shirt into a cute one!

It was super easy! You will need:

  • A large t-shirt you don’t mind cutting up. The bigger the better.
  • Scissors.
  • Sewing machine.

Cut the arms off your shirt and the top portion, straight across, as pictured:

Next, cut the bottom seam off your shirt, as well as a strip about 3cm wide (or, the same width as the seam you just cut off) Discard the seam, or save for another project. Save the strip – this is what becomes the straps.

Fold over the top front of the shirt (fold it into the shirt) and stitch straight across, creating a channel for the straps to be threaded through. Do the same for the back half of the shirt. (there’s better pictures on the original blog)

Cut the strip you saved for the strap, so that you have a looong piece of fabric. Attach a safety-pin to the end to help you feed it through the channels you just sewed. (I couldn’t find one, so I used a paperclip and wrapped tape around it, so it wouldn’t catch.)

And you’re done! You don’t have to worry about hemming your shirt, because the ends won’t fray! How awesome is that? Just sewing two simple lines?

I made my shirt a little bit tighter, by trying it on inside out and pinning the approximate size I wanted it. I took it off very carefully and just sewed straight up the sides:

I did a zig zag stitch up the side to make it a little stronger.

Cute huh? I really like it for warmer weather, it’s very breezy 🙂 I’ll definitely make more of these …maybe I’ll steal some of Rob’s old shirts. 😉

Leave a Reply

